Club History

Ruby Pitt along with Barbara Hobbs, who had in her possession all Shirley Hubbard’s newsletters and minutes, including the very first ones, provided this history.

Ruth Argros ran ads in the 1980 February and March issues of the Antique Press, looking for people to form a local carnival glass club in the Tampa Bay area.

March 2, 1980 – A planning meeting was held at the home of Ruth Argros. 15 people attended including Mike & Qwen Bevill, members of the Orange Tree Carnival Glass Club in Jacksonville, who came to help. A discussion was held to come up with a club name, officers, a newsletter editor, and some ideas for promoting the club. The only officers elected at this meeting were Ruth Argros, President, and Art Smith Vice President. The Bevills presented an educational program. Refreshments were served.

April 13, 1980 – A second meeting (the first real club meeting) was held at the home of Ruth Argros. The first official minutes from the first meeting were provided, along with the first newsletter and roster. 15 people attended this meeting also.

Ruth would serve as temporary Secretary and Newsletter Editor. Alan Randall was selected as club Treasurer. Club dues were set at $5.00 per family. The name “Tampa Bay Carnival Glass Club” officially came to be. A discussion was held on how to promote the club, especially during October, which is National Carnival Glass Month, started by the American Carnival Glass Club. The next meeting was to be held at the home of Art & Dorothy Smith. The Bevills presented an educational program. Refreshments were served.

It was decided that the people who had paid their dues by April of 1981 would be considered charter members. The 12 Charter Club Members are:

Ray & Ruth Argros – Dunedin, FL
Mike & Qwen Bevill
Naomi Calkins – Safety Harbor, FL
Shirley Hubbard – South Pasadena, FL
Eddie & Lily Laman – Auburndale, FL
Philip & Florence Graham – Lakeland, FL
Duane & Betty Patton – Palm Harbor, FL
Ruby Pitt – St Petersburg, FL
Alan & Flora Randall
Art & Dorothy Smith – Lakeland, FL
Shirley & Maurice Conyers, Madeira, FL
Albert & Anna Tice – Winter Garden, FL

May 18, 1980 – The third meeting was held at the home of Art & Dorothy Smith. No official educational program was presented, but all enjoyed viewing the Smith’s glass. Shirley Hubbard officially joined the club. Refreshments were served.

September 14, 1980 – The fourth meeting was held at the home of Naomi Calkins. The first buffet was served with food brought by the attendees, which started a tradition that continues today. Shirley took her first official minutes, and continued doing so for 18 years.

1982 – The very first club jamboree (convention) was held at the Huntley Hilton in Lakeland. There was no banquet speaker the first year, but there was an auction run by whom else but a young Tom Burns.

Some Other Members From the Early Years

Glenn & Margaret Austin
Tom Burns
Vann Funderburk
Don Kime
LaVerda Mudd
Byron & Grace Rhinehart
Bob & Kitty Vining
Don Baldwin
Sterling Butz
Gary Wilder
Loretta Loftus
Bert & Florence Newman
Omer Sweeny
Phil & Nancy Raymer
Barbara Berry
Bill Crowl
Walter & Dot Halsworth
Stuart Mills
Mrs Obice
Dick & Emma Tilton
John & Lucille Britt
Ed & Bea Dietz
Rodney & Susie Hardee
Anna Morgan
Alaine & Sconie Pennetti
Nick & Maria Vafiadis